Niko Niko Sushi: Striving to be Above the Competition

img_07129

2300 Harbor Blvd #N5
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
(949) 645-3375

What can I really say about Niko Niko. Well…I’ve been going here since I was in high school, and it was actually the first place I was able to try sushi. It was decent in price and gave me the first outlet to try something new, even though stuffing raw fish into my mouth didn’t sound too appealing to me. I’m admittedly was not a sushi fan at the time, but this place changed my mind. I’ll give niko niko some credit for that.

Now that my tastes have grown, I can honestly say niko niko is pretty average. It’s not bad by any means, but there isn’t anything special to set this place apart either. We tried the monkey brain roll (at least it has a cool name :)). The texture of this roll was gooey and and very rich, probably due to the fact that they put a lot of mayo on it. You can barely see the roll under all the sauce they top it with. If this is your kind of thing, I guess go for it, but I prefer my rolls to have some substance to them.

img_07132

The crunch roll here actually isn’t very crunchy at all. Most places will top their crunch rolls with panko crumbs on top, but this place doesn’t do that. The only crispy portion of this roll is the tempura battered shrimp pieces inside the roll itself. I think this roll needs improvement.

The spicy tuna roll needs some help too. The problem with this hand cut roll is that the taste of spicy tuna is too strong that it overpowers any of the other basic ingredients that were put there to begin with to accentuate the fish in the roll, such as the sesame seeds and scallions. The other thing I didn’t like about the roll was that it was battered lightly on the outside and fried, something I’m not use to because the roll was warm. Definitely not the orthodox way to do it, but I guess they are just trying to think outside the box

The wait staff was helpful and the owner seemed nice enough. Niko Niko is essentially a chain sushi restaurant at its core, but the fact that they are able to deliver sushi that is average to pretty tasty is amazing on its own. I wouldn’t recommend planning a dinner around this place, but if you’re by it and want to try something new, feel free to do so, but don’t expect Iron Chef Masaharu Morimoto quality sushi either….think McDonalds Sushi, but a step up.

~ by thankgoditsfood on April 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
