Alertos

IMG_1594

17225 Brookhurst St.
Fountain Valley, CA 92708
(714) 593-0069

Carne Asada Nachos? Something doesn’t seem traditional about this haha. Anyway, Alertos is a good place to get a quick bite to eat. It’s Mexican food OC style. When I went with my PIC (partner in crime), we ended up getting the carne asada nachos. The nachos came with pico de gallo, sour cream, guacamole, cheese, beans, and of course, carne asada. The chips were too oily in my opinion, but that’s because they fry it to order, so I guess thats a good and a bad thing at this place. The carne asada tends to be a little dry, but you hardly notice because there so much sour cream and guacamole, along with all the other fillings, to detract you from that issue. However, although it has its shortcomings here and there, overall I’d still say give it a try. If nachos aren’t your thing, you can always get carne asada fries. Just make sure that if you do get the nachoes though, order them separate because the pico de gallo will make your chips soggy.

Their carne asada burritos suffer from the same issue of dry meat, but again, so much gucamole that you hardly think about the moisture content of the meat (only because I’m a sucker for gucamole and I think it makes anything that much better :)).

The fish tacos here are good also. They come with the typical battered pieces of fish, cabbage, and tarter sauce. Your standard stuff. Good, but I’ve had better and fresher fish, but I wasn’t expecting too much from a fast food establishment such as Alertos.

My last piece of advice is go to this establishment and not the other Alertos down the street. Reason why I recommend this place over the other one is because the other establishment tends to overdo it with the onions in their pico de gallo that Alertos is known to put in everything. I mean I love onions, but I don’t need what seems to be almost half an onion in one burrito. Overall this is your average to go mexican food joint, so if you’re close by, go ahead and get something. If you want some good, authentic Mexican food, go to El Gallo Giro.

~ by thankgoditsfood on May 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
