85 Degrees Bakery Cafe

IMG_1675

2700 Alton Pkwy
Suite 123
Irvine, CA 92606
(949) 553-8585
www.85cafe.us

“Hot bread! Hot bread!” is something often heard at this bustling bakery whenever their workers come out with fresh plates of rolls. If there’s one thing that Taiwanese are known for, it’s their bakeries. And let me tell you, this little bakery does not disappoint. With the opening of Diamond Plaza on Jamboree, 85C has already attracted many loyal followers, asian and nonasian. Usually whenever I go there has been a line going outside the store. As you can see below, we have been part of that line, and fyi that is how much bread everyone else in line is getting too lol. Luckily, they have a quick system that employs a cashier and a goods packer so the wait is never too long. I think it’s very cute that all the workers have customizd t-shirts with their names on their backs.

IMG_0652

Although this bakery carries cakes and pasteries, I’d say they only excel in one of those categories. We’ve tried their strawberry shortcake and black forest chocolate mousse cake (ok I can’t remember the exact name but it is a chocolate cake) and neither one was memorable. While exteriorly 85C’s cakes look very beautiful, taste-wise they can be a bit dry. Their pasteries, on the other hand, are to die for.

IMG_1679

Almost all the pasteries are good and they change up what they have everyday. Some of my favorites are their taro bread(s), garlic cheese bread, and the coffee bread with red bean filling. They all have a good consistency and are well flavored. I’m gonna warn you though, their breads with lots of cheese on them can get a little oily sometimes. One thing they don’t have, but I wish they had, are these pasteries with taro paste inside and a crispy outside. I’m gonna call them taro balls. So far the best taro balls I’ve tried were from Kawaii Bakery in Fountain Valley. Ever since Vy introduced those taro balls my roommates and I, we’ve been hooked. I’ll leave the review for that bakery for another day.

IMG_0620

Lastly, what is also making this bakery really popular is that they also have a coffee and tea drink menu. That makes this place into an all-in-one bakery and tea hang out place. I would recommend their coffee and jelly milk tea to people who are tea fans. However, if you don’t like drinks that are too sweet, then maybe something else would be better because this particular drink is slightly on the sweeter side. Also, the small size for their drinks is pretty tiny, so for a cheap upgrade you can get a bigger size that’s more satisfying. All in all, this is a good bakery and you shouldn’t be afraid to try whatever pastery you want because they are all pretty cheap ($1-$2).

~ by thankgoditsfood on May 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “85 Degrees Bakery Cafe”

  1. Yum. Great photos. Thanks!

  2. I didn’t even see this in Taipei the last time I went back. Heard about this from my So. Cal colleague. Looks similar to the Sheng Kee we have up in No. Cal.

  3. Thanks for the review. Very useful for newcomers like me.

  4. My nephew introduced this to me. I had a giant brioche which I just pinched a bit to taste but I ended up eating the whole thing off! It’s so flavorful! Too bad there’s not one in the valley but I plan on driving 45 minutes to try other breads they have. But I hope one day they consider putting up one in our area.

Leave a Reply

 
