Chipotle Mexican Grill: Serving Uncle Sam’s Clients

IMG_0911

3705 S. Bristol St.
Santa Ana, CA 92704
(714) 754-7380
www.chipotle.com

Hey folks, I’m sure you have all heard of Chipotle Mexican Grill or at least driven by it…well if you haven’t…I think it’s about time you get off your deserted island, dark cave, crushed under a rock, etc…pick whatever euphemism you would like 🙂 Anywho, it’s a chain restaurant that is known for their massive burritos, which can be customized any way you like. NOW…is it better than a mom and pop shop?

Of course not haha. However, the reason why I brought up Chipotle is because it is (at least to me) a better alternative to other local chain restaurants that you might think about, say McDonalds, or Taco Bell when you are in a hurry, but also want some decent food. It’s definitely a notch up, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say it’s a replacement if you are looking for a really good place to dine and enjoy your food.

IMG_0915

The reason why I even decided to review Chipotle is because while I was up in northern California, I had the chance to try Iguanas Burritozilla, and it reminded me a lot of Chipotle. Well…now that I’ve eaten at Chipotle again after a two year hiatus, I can tell you for sure Iguanas is a notch up. The reason why I wouldn’t give Chipotle the nod or the same handshake is because of the way they marinate their meat, its far inferior to Iguanas’ meat. Igunas seems as if they took their time to make their meat and offer you good, flavorful, perfectly seasoned meat. Chipotle’s carnitas, steak, chicken, barbacoa all taste over seasoned and way too dry to me….the driest of all the meats would have to be the steak, don’t bother with it. If you want some flavor, just get the barbacoa, at least it’s simmered in a broth.

This doesn’t mean Chipotle is not a good place to enjoy food by any stretch. Give it a try if you are craving fast food, because this definitely can satisfy that feeling. Just beware that even though their burritos are big, so are their prices. I don’t mind the cost of the individual burrito itself, which is about a $5.95 average ( a little on the high end), but to charge $1.65 for guacamole is ridiculous. A couple of my friends do agree as well that $1.65 for mashed up avocado is just plain stealing (it’s basically just mashed up avocado because I don’t really taste any other seasonings in it). Just a word of advice though, get the gucamole and sour cream on the side or else be ready for a big mess while you are eating 🙂

~ by thankgoditsfood on August 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
