Amato’s Cheesesteaks: Brotherly Love in CA

IMG_2293

1162 Saratoga Ave
Saratoga, CA 95129
(408) 246-4007
www.amatoscheesesteaks.com

We wanted to come by here and give Amato’s a chance because it had gotten so many reviews on yelp and with a 4 star average.  The only other experience with cheesesteak sandwiches that I’ve had was at Philly’s Best back home in Southern California.  I thought their cheesesteaks were decent, but nothing special overall.  I was hoping Amato’s would deliver that unexpected goodness that people in the city of “brotherly love” always talk about.

To my surprise and Julie’s as well, the sandwich was still mediocre.  I’m starting to think that we just aren’t “cheesesteak sandwich loving” people.  I’m sure to people who do love it, Amato’s is the best thing since sliced bread, but to me and Julie, the sandwich was just ordinary.  To their credit, the individual components of the sandwich were good if we were to break it down.  The bread was soft and chewy, something to absorb all the flavors of the meat and cheese.  The cheese, well…tasted like good melted american white cheese.  The meat was unflavored, but I know they do that for a reason since they want the main component of flavor to be the cheese and for the meat to supplement the overall taste.   The meat was tender and not chewy, and I think that’s all you can really ask for in a cheesesteak sandwich.  Although I do wish they gave more grilled onions in their sandwiches, not enough…but then again, sometimes I think I love grilled onions a little TOO much :/

IMG_2292

Honestly, Julie and I don’t really have much to say about this place other than its catered to a specific group of people who really love cheesesteak sandwiches.  To us, it’s just any other run of the mill sandwich, which doesn’t mean it’s bad in any way.  It just doesn’t tickle our funny bone like other foods do 🙂  Amato’s is still a good place to get cheesesteak sandwiches, but Julie and I definitely won’t be back.  We just prefer to eat at other places and we finally realize that the only way we’ll eat cheesesteak sandwiches again is if we take a trip to the city of brotherly love itself, so that we experience where this great American tradition originated.

~ by thankgoditsfood on August 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “Amato’s Cheesesteaks: Brotherly Love in CA”

  1. next destination: THE HAT. World famous pastrami. please go there. i go there every weekend i go home. theres a location in lake forest. chilli fries are a must.

  2. Oh yes, The Hat =) We’ve eaten there before, or at least I’ve been there, I’m not sure about Julie. Tony and I got the pastrami onion rings with the pastrami burger…let’s just say…super food coma afterwards haha

Leave a Reply

 
