La Victoria Taqueria: Don’t Tease The Iguana

IMG_2400

140 E. San Carlos St.
San Jose, CA 95112
(408) 298-5335
www.lavicsj.com

After Julie and I shared a burrito at Iguanas, I knew I wasn’t going to be in the neighborhood again until maybe next year, so I was very very curious as to why Iguanas and La Victoria Taqueria  are the top two local eateries for SJSU students.  I tried Iguanas, and Julie kept telling me about how La Vics (La Victoria) is famous for their orange sauce and why so many people try it for that reason.   I told Julie we should grab something to go and try it a little later.  So to those of you who have not tried the orange sauce yet, does it live up the hype?

IMG_2402

Sorry to say, but the orange sauce definitely does not live up to the hype.  What’s even worse is the food.  The main issue that we had with the burrito at La Vics is that if you just stop for a moment and don’t put orange sauce onto your food, you’ll realize it’s just a glop/mush of filling that does not offer any distinction of flavors except salty with a hint of some herbs.  When I bit into the burrito, it felt like I was eating a burrito filled with grounded pinto beans, not carnitas and rice.  That’s how mushy the texture was.  It was just…well…not what I usually get when I eat a burrito.  I couldn’t tell what I was eating was pork and rice 😦  The other thing with the burrito is that there aren’t any salsa, guac, or sour cream to be seen in the burrito, which I thought was suppose to be in there since we did order it.  Talk about ripping us off!!!

Now…on to the hotly debated topic of La Vics, which is the orange sauce.  Honestly, it just tastes sour with a hint of chilies in it.  Since it does have that creamy texture to it, I’m assuming its either made out of mayonnaise, sour cream, or heavy cream.  The sourness probably comes from lime, which is made with a lot of Mexican food in general.  The red is probably from chipotle chilies with adobo sauce, a common ingredient in authentic mexican food.   Either or, that heavy creamy texture can’t be good for you haha.

I also did some researching online and a previous worker said that the sauce’s main ingredients were churrizo grease, mayonnaise, and chili powder…I was close lol.  Whether this is true or not is still up for debate, but anything of that texture is made from fat, so don’t eat TOO much of it :/

Although if La Vics is reading this, try the chipotle chilies with adobo sauce, might give it a little bit more flavor 🙂  If this review seems condescending, well it is, but I’m not trying to be mean to La Vics in any way.  I’m just being honest about what we ate and that you shouldn’t let the hype persuade you in any way when you eat here.  Go in with an unbias point of view and really critique what you are eating here and you’ll realize there is way better food elsewhere.  Julie and I work hard for our money, and when La Vics charges us $6.75 for a mushy, sour cream and guac-less, burrito, we’re going to invariably be disappointed and definitely won’t be coming back any time soon.

~ by thankgoditsfood on August 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “La Victoria Taqueria: Don’t Tease The Iguana”

  1. orange sauce is vegan. there’s no mayo/grease/animal byproduct whatsoever.

    nice try tho! gg.

  2. I wouldn’t trust La Victoria when they say their “special” orange sauce is “vegan”… Iguanas ftw! Better ingredients, better options, and a better sauce.

Leave a Reply

 
