The Cottage: I wish I could get this in bed!

IMG_2484a

7702 Fay Ave
La Jolla, CA 92037
(858) 454-8409
www.cottagelajolla.com

My friends in San Diego have been raving about this place for forever! The weekend I went down to San Diego for my brother’s move-in for school, Vy picked me up so we could go give this place a try. When we passed the restaurant, we noticed that there were a lot of people waiting outside to be seated. Oh no, for sure we thought the wait would be really long, and we hadn’t even found parking yet after circling around a few times. I got off the car first to put my name down while Vy went to look for parking. Luckily, the host assured me that the wait would only be 20 minutes despite what it seemed.

I love the atmosphere of this place. With its white picket fences and garden chairs, this little gem completely embodies the spirit of a countryside breakfast. All the waiters and servers were also very attentive and helpful. One of my friends had suggested getting the stuffed french toast, so that was what I ordered. Vy never had a good experience trying eggs benedict before at two other breakfast joints, but seeing that many of our neighboring customers were ordering eggs benedict, he decided to give this place a try.

IMG_2480a

Vy’s California Benedict came out first and boy, did it look delicious. The poached eggs were made just right (slightly runny) and not overcooked like some other breakfast places. Accompanying the eggs were thin-sliced turkey meat, fresh avocados, and tasty potatos. Overall a good, filling breakfast made just the way we like it.

IMG_2481a

My stuffed french toast also looked amazing. Fluffy french toast stuffed with strawberry compote and marscarpone cheese-this was just heaven! Okay, I know Vy doesn’t think it’s an orgasm in your mouth good, but it was close-my-eyes kinda good for ME. We both agreed that the french toast was extra yummy because it was nice and fluffy rather than the thick, chewy style bread. I usually think stuffed french toasts get too sweet for me (i.e. at places like IHOP), but I was so glad I ordered it here. In fact, writing about it now is making me crave it again, too bad it’s all the way in San Diego while I’m stuck in norcal.

All in all, we both were very delighted with this joint and I’m sure we’ll be back again when we’re in the area. Or at least I will be. The Cottage has definitely made within the top of my favorite list of places to be a fattie at. If you’re in La Jolla, stop by and enjoy the fair prices, excellent service, and delicious food; you won’t regret it. And if you’re worried about the food being too heavy or fattening, The Cove (a strip of beach with seals) is within a 10-15 minute walking distance of 3-4 blocks. [Personally, even that was too long of a walk for lazy people like Vy and me. However, do keep in mind that if you want to drive to The Cove on the weekend, parking will be hard to come by.]

~ by thankgoditsfood on September 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
