Gyu-Kaku: High Quality Japanese BBQ…with High Quality Prices

IMG_1197

7862 Warner Ave.
Suite #109
Huntington Beach, CA 92647
(714) 842-8333
http://www.gk-bbq.com

I was fortunate enough to eat here for a friend’s birthday dinner and let’s just get this out of the way…the meat here is pretty darn good.  What stops me from fully recommending this place is the sky high prices.

IMG_1190

Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s not “gourmet” sky high prices, but definitely expensive for how much they give you.  This place definitely emphasizes taste, not belly satisfaction.  Each dish can range anywhere from 3 dollars for 3.5oz of meat to $9.95 for 3 oz. of meat.  The most expensive meat they have there is Kobe beef, but I didn’t even bother to dabble in that as I’m going to need to talk to a loan shark to even order that.  However, what I was able to taste was definitely wonderful.

IMG_1195

Amazingly enough, some of there cheaper cuts were pretty delicious.  One particular cut that I really liked was the filet mignon.  Definitely very tender and flavorful.  There was also another, very thinly sliced cut of meat that was marinated in teriyaki, but I cannot remember the name of it…but order all the thinly sliced meat…it’s the one that tastes good hahaha.

The calamari (although I don’t have a picture of it) was amazingly very tender and good.  It wasn’t chewy in any sense of the word and the batter was a perfect blend between crispy and moist.  Some batters tend to be a little too crispy, but this one was perfect.

I can only say good things about the food, but I can say 10,000 bad things about the price.  Honestly, it’s too expensive for me to recommend to anyone unless money wasn’t really the issue.  The bill at the end of the night was over $200, and no one was full at the dinner table…in fact…some people were talking about going somewhere else to eat since they were still hungry.  Okay, I was one of those people, but in my defense, I wasn’t the only one feeling that way.  If you were to go, I say go on the weekends and during lunch since it’s all you can eat.  Even though you don’t get the good cuts of meat, the other sub-par cuts are still good, and the most important, it won’t hurt your wallet so much.

~ by thankgoditsfood on October 29, 2009.

One Response to “Gyu-Kaku: High Quality Japanese BBQ…with High Quality Prices”

  1. It’s too bad that anything that’s good and Japanese tends to be pricey. I went to one in Pasadena once and I must say, their meat definitely is extra tasty, but for my buck, I’d probably just go with Korean BBQ 4 out of 5 times.

Leave a Reply

 
