St. John’s Bar and Grill: Finally! Another Place Favorited

510 Lawrence Expressway
Suite 110
Sunnyvale, CA 94085
(408) 738-8515
www.stjohnsgrill.com

Yay, new yummy place! I know our blog has been getting dry with new posts. Not to mention that recently there just hasn’t been many places that have a “wow” factor. I was a little skeptical at first when my friends said they wanted to go to a burger place for dinner. This place isn’t THAT close to my house and I was thinking How good can a non-$10 burger really get? Also, another thought came to mind when I saw ‘Bar & Grill’ was Oh great, BRO-y. Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. As a female, it’s just difficult to fully enjoy a meal when it’s a complete sausagefest full of frat boys. But alas, that is not the case with this joint. It definitely has got a sports bar vibe to it, but at least it doesn’t have the Bro-factor.

If you’re planning to come here, be warned that seats are hard to come by during meal times. At primetime the lines seem long, but service is fast and you get your orders pronto status. Anyways, yea $7 is kind of steep for a burger with a thin patty if you want to compare against The Counter. But we’re not talking about The Counter are we. Please don’t come here expecting a ginormous burger with all sorts a plethora of random toppings; St.John’s just serves a different style burger. This dive is perfect for good deals (I’ll talk about this later), good burgers, and a good time with friends to just hang out. The best thing about this place is that Wednesdays (4-10pm) and Saturdays (all day) are their Burger Bash days, which means half-off all burgers! At about $3-4 a burger, it makes this place totally worth it. Not a burger fan? Don’t worry they have different deals everyday of the week so you can pick and choose which day you want to pop in.

Okay, now I can actually talk about the food! If you ever get the chance to, most of the burgers on their menu look very good. There has also been many Yelpers saying good things about different burgers. I decided to try their ‘Beg for Mercy’ cheeseburger because that seemed to be one of those gotta-try items on the menu. This burger consists of 1/3 lb fresh ground chuck laden with roasted serrano peppers, pepper jack cheese, and chipotle mayo. The buns used weren’t really anything special, but nevertheless the burger was very flavorful :). Those of you who can handle your spicy and like your food not the least mild, this is the burger for you. I’m glad they put this type of pepper rather than jalapenos because my mouth was not overwhelmed with numbness. Even though the peppers have a good kick, my taste buds were still able to calm down to enjoy the combination of ingredients on the burger as a whole. Note: there is a jalapeno burger on the menu, but one of my friends who has tried that one can attest that the ‘Beg for Mercy’ burger is much better seasoned.

I know spicy isn’t the thing for everyone. Luckily, it seems that most of the burgers here are good. Some of my friends tried the guac and bacon burger and the pineapple teriyaki burger. Both enjoyed their meal very much. Another item on the menu that I was able to sample were their garlic fries. The burgers? Awesome! The garlic fries? Eh..not so much. To me, they tasted like garlic fries you order from the food court in a theme park. I know the menu says there’s fresh garlic on it, but all I could make out was the garlic powder they sprinkled on. A lot of the fries were stuck together too; that was kind of annoying.

Overall, a very good local dive for a quick and cheap bite to eat when the time is right. I’ll definitely be back again. I think next time I want to give their beer-battered onion rings a try and possibly another wonderful burger. Hoorah for a ‘definitely will come again’ place!

~ by thankgoditsfood on November 19, 2009.

One Response to “St. John’s Bar and Grill: Finally! Another Place Favorited”

  1. MMmmm.. yes. I have been coming here for years, and still make it up to watch college football and eat $4 double cheeseburgers on Saturdays when I’m back in the Bay area every so often. Glad you like it too, Jules!

Leave a Reply

 
