Coupa Café: A Little Overhyped Is What I Say

538 Ramona St
Palo Alto, CA 94301
(650) 322-6872
www.coupacafe.com

I think this is one of the first places where I really felt like I ordered the wrong item(s) on the menu. A couple of friends and I wanted to have a lunch date so we looked up a few places on Yelp! and settled on this little cafe based on the positive feedback and the enticing photos. It was a little confusing at first because its door wasn’t a typical glass door. The door looked like it belonged to somebody’s house so we actually walked passed it a few times before finally deciding that it must be the right place.

I had read sooo many good reviews about the Spicy Maya Hot Chocolate so of course I wanted to try it out. While I wasn’t as impressed as I thought I would be about the taste, I do have to give them an ‘A’ for presentation. I guess I shouldn’t be complaining since how elaborate can you be with spicy hot chocolate? It was good, but it tasted exactly like the spicy hot chocolate that my roommate in college used to make…and she would just buy the mix at a regular grocery store in the Hispanic foods section. If you’re craving spicy hot chocolate, just buy the mix from the store. It’s much cheaper.

As for the food, none of us were too hungry so we wanted to sample California Mozzzrella arepa and Mediterranean panini. The panini was okay… nothing special but it wasn’t bad either. However, the only taste that was prominent were the sun-dried tomatos. I couldn’t make out the mozzarella or the pesto that was supposed to be in it. Next time I would probably order a different flavored panini…or just go to Panera Bread.

As for the arepas that we ordered, I found that dish to be rather bland. It might be because the one we ordered only has sun-dried tomatos, mozzarella, and basil. I personally didn’t like the white cornmeal griddle for the taste or the texture. That is just my opinion though. I definitely was expecting more but since arepas are pretty much a snack food, I guess it makes sense that there wasn’t as much substance as I expected.

Even though I wasn’t impressed with what I ate here, I would still be willing to give this place a second chance. A lot of their other items on the menu look good and I’m surprised I didn’t order empanadas! Honestly, I think it’s what I ordered that dampened my experience here. If I ever come back again, I’ll definitely be ordering something that has more flavor.

~ by thankgoditsfood on November 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
