Bonjour Crêpe Company: Dessert Celebration for our 100th Post!

19929 Stevens Creek Blvd
Cupertino, CA 95014
(408) 973-8553
www.bonjourcrepes.com

Do not worry baby birds, I will feed you (Daniel Tosh reference)! Hello, Thankgoditsfood fans! I know it’s been a slow month in terms of new posts but Vy and I are trying our best to do with what we have. So, here is another crêpe joint added to this blog. Anyone who is local to the area should know that this is where the old Verde Tea & Cafe used to be…until angry neighbors complained of the noise the Asian gatherings were causing lol (Those of you from around here, you know what I’m talking about). I have mixed feelings about this creperie because the savory crepes that I tried were only okay, while the sweet crepes were really good. Again though, like we mentioned in our other crêpe post, it’s hard to mess up a sweet crêpe…especially if it’s loaded with Nutella.

I’ll start with the savory crepes that I tried. I’m lucky that I was here with a friend because that meant I got to try more than one flavor. Between the two of us we split a Turkey, Pesto, Mozzarella, & Avocado crêpe and a Chicken, Mushroom, Swiss combination. “Why is the color of the crêpe weird?”, you ask. Well, the cool thing about this joint is that they offer the option of Organic Buckwheat for their crepes. The not-so-cool thing? To be honest, personally I think the regular batter tastes better.

The fact that the plain batter tastes better might play a factor in why I wasn’t so impressed with the savory crepes. However, I can’t forgive the Chicken, Mushroom, Swiss crêpe for being so bland! All I could really taste for that flavor was the cheese. I think if that crêpe had some kind of savory glaze it would have been so much more delectable.

As least the Turkey, Pesto, Mozzarella, and Avocado crêpe was better. The pesto and the avocado definitely saved this crêpe’s butt because if it weren’t for the combined powers of the two, this crêpe probably would have joined the mushroom crêpe in my ‘Don’t Order list’. I know I’m sounding harsh, but I expect more than deli-meat (which is what the turkey tasted like) if I’m expected to pay pretty much $8 for a savory crêpe.

Alright, enough with the diatribe; I saved the best for last :). I must say, Bonjour’s sweet crepes the better choice to buy at this restaurant. Unlike Crepes de Paris, Bonjour makes their crepes thinner so it’s easier to cut. However, the only qualm I have about the sweet crêpe is that the crêpe part is cooked slightly soggy -_-. Still, overall the combination of strawberries, bananas, and Nutella can make anyone’s sweet tooth happy. At about $7 for the above combination, I’d say it’s a normal price. If you want the extra icecream, that’ll cost you an extra $1.

My final verdict for this joint? If the sweet tooth side of you is calling, do come here for the sweet crepes. If you want something savory, I think you can get a better bang for your buck at Quizno’s next door.

~ by thankgoditsfood on January 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Bonjour Crêpe Company: Dessert Celebration for our 100th Post!”

  1. Humm.. That actually looks soo good! I wish we’d have one of those in Cleveland! I’ve been meaning to buy a crêpe pan, but I just haven’t yet… So often I see the accents on the word crêpe completely massacred, so as a french (really from Québec) living in the states, I was very happy to see you taking care of those accents ;-)!

    – Kloé

    • We’re glad you enjoyed reading this and looking at our pics! We’ve been seeing more and more creperies popping up around here so maybe Cleveland will follow the trend! And it’s a wonder how easily spell-check can fix your mistakes; too bad on wordpress it doesn’t catch the plural form. Cool blog btw, it’s refreshing to see a health/workout blog since I never see that many on wordpress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
