Slice of New York (Seal Beach): Southern CA’s Got One Too!

142 Main St.
Seal Beach, CA 90740
(562) 493-4430

I was so happy to find out that we had a Slice of New York down here in Southern California!  The first time I had this was when I was visiting Julie up in San Jose.  She had a Slice of New York joint right by her house.  The place had a lot of reviews, so we decided to give it a try at the time, and it was wonderful.  I was yearning for one in Southern California, and with a bit of magic fairy dust and some blind luck, I found one!

I told my sister about it and she decided to give it a go, and boy was the pizza good.  It was super thin and crispy, but with some chewy texture to it as well.  It is definitely a very well balanced slice of pizza.  We got four different types of pizza, which was the margherita, pineapple with pepperoni, pepperoni + bell peppers + olives + sausages, and pesto.  I think my favorite would have to still be the margherita.  You can’t beat that simple combination.  The margherita is slices tomato, fresh mozzarella cheese, and basil.  No marinara sauce either, just plain and simple.  The pesto was the same, just replace the tomato and basil with pesto.  If you like your pizzas heavy on marinara, this might not be your place, because they go very light on the sauce.  I’m not much of a sauce guy, so this place was pure pizza heaven to me.

The prices are fair and I think well worth the drive.  For a large pizza, it’s about $15.  For a slice, I believe it was $2.50.  I honestly believe this is one of the few joints left that make great NY style pizza.  You can’t beat this.  You GOT to try this place out.

~ by thankgoditsfood on February 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
