Jake’s Restaurant (of Saratoga): A Sports Bar in Saratoga is Pretty Random

12175 Saratoga Sunnyvale Rd.
Saratoga, CA 95070
(408) 257-5858
www.jakesofsaratoga.com

Hi fans! As you all know, Vy and I are BIG fans of zucchini fries. Up until this review, all of the zucchini places that we’ve tried have been in Socal. I wanted to find one up in Norcal, so after some yelping online, I found out that Jake’s supposedly had really good zucchini fries. I’d been passing by this particular Jake’s for about 10 years now (it’s literally 2 blocks away from my house) and never once did I think about stopping by.

The zucchini fries were the first items I’ve tried here. I was excited because it’d be awesome if I had a zucchini fries joint so close to my house. It’d be so easy for me to be a fatty on a regular basis =). Sadly though, my hopes were too high for this joint. The zucchini fries here just tasted like mozzarella cheese sticks … except with zucchini inside. Not to mention, I found the batter to be on the saltier side.

Even though I was disappointed with the fries, I figured “Why not a second chance?” for the pizza. At least in this department, Jake’s didn’t fail. My friends and I split a ‘small’ Gilroy special that actually was pretty large for the three of us. For an after-practice type of joint, I say Jake’s offers a yummy choice for winners everywhere :).

~ by thankgoditsfood on February 20, 2010.

One Response to “Jake’s Restaurant (of Saratoga): A Sports Bar in Saratoga is Pretty Random”

  1. I LOVE Jake’s pizza. How could you have never eaten there before? It was a very popular after-practice or end-of-soccer-season-party pizza joint. But I’ve never had the zucchini sticks. Now I want some. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

 
