Cream Pan: Like A Japanese Kid in A Candy Shop!

602 El Camino Real
Tustin, CA 92780
(714) 665-8239

We all scream for Cream Pan!!! Okay, maybe just me, but this place makes some pretty good snacks.  For starters, you definitely have to try the strawberry croissants when you get here.  The texture is chewy inside, crispy outside.  The pastry is amazing and very light for being filled with custard and powdered sugar, so beware!  Don’t chow down on too many or you’ll find yourself sleeping in the afternoon at your desk.

This place is also probably known for their Cream Pans as well, or also known as custard filled puff pastries.  The custard is not too overly sweet and the center had a very nice cold temperature without causing the outer bun to be soggy or dense.  Pure amazing.

We also purchased red bean buns, and some other small little tid bits, but nothing special.  There were some items I was interested in trying when I saw photos on Yelp, but when I got there, it didn’t seem so appetizing.  For starters, the pork katsu sandwich was pre-made and cold.  Pork Katsu is battered pork that is deep fried, but it seemed weird to me that they would refrigerate it rather then prepare fresh to order.  Wouldn’t the texture of the batter be soggy after refrigeration?  I guess convenience is the name of the game for that sandwich.  This also goes for the yakisoba sandwich that I was looking forward to trying as well.  It was refrigerated.  If you try it, let me know, but I can already imagine how’d it taste, and I don’t think I’d be a fan of what I’m thinking it would taste like.  However, I could be completely wrong, but I rather not be $6 down and be disappointed at the same time, which by the way, really expensive for a sandwich that isn’t fresh made and kept in the cold box.

The strawberry shortcake and the fruit tart looked amazing, but that will definitely be for another visit.  I really recommend coming here and trying the strawberry croissant and their famous cream pans, they are definitely top notch and worth your hard earned pennies.  Oh yea, becareful, they aren’t open on Mondays!!

~ by thankgoditsfood on February 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
