Sweetee Thai Cafe: Why Can’t Sushi Joints Be Open Late?

11700 South St.
Suite 101
Artesia, CA 90701
(562) 865-6152
www.sweeteethai.com/cafe

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the horrendous photos.  The lighting in this restaurant was very minimal.  I only brought a point-and-shoot which made the situation worst.  However, we decided to actually eat at this place on a whim without any planning or consideration ahead of time, so if I knew this place was going to be this dark, I would have brought out a DSLR.

However, I don’t feel that bad about the lower quality photos because the food just wasn’t that good to begin with.  The noodle dish that we ordered was alright; it wasn’t bad, but I didn’t quite like it either.  I guess it’s because I’m not that big of a fan with it comes to the thicker variety noodles.  The sauce was just sweet and spicy.  The chicken to me didn’t stand out either, just tasted like it was coated with that sweet sauce and that’s it.  If you need more info, please refer to the horrible photo I took above this paragraph haha.

I also ordered one of my all time favorite dishes, Orange Chicken…and what a big mistake.  The taste of the dish was honestly just bland to me.  The problem is that the sauce doesn’t stand out very much in this dish.  It’s missing the punch that you usually get when you eat Orange Chicken.  It was missing that strong bite of rice vinegar.  However, if you like your orange chicken mild on the sauce, this might be your thing.  The texture was crispy, which wins them some points, but I can’t forgive them for the lack of a good orange sauce.

We also ordered Pad Thai, which was very good.  It had a nice amount of peanut sauce and the amount of oil in the dish was just right.  I love the texture of the noodles and the sauce was very good, not overly sweet.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos of the dish as I just forgot and dug in before I remembered to take a photo -_-.  Anyway, the last dish I was able to sample was the BBQ Pork Fried Rice.  It tastes like regular fried rice you can make at home or taste at any other Chinese home.  The BBQ pork was very bland as well.  It was dry and did not make a strong mark in the dish at all.

As for the final bill, I think this place is definitely on the high side, for about $9 to $10/dish.  For what we paid, we didn’t get very much food.  If you are looking to stuff yourself, this place isn’t very generous on portions.  Would I recommend this place?  Hard to say.  I think if you were in the neighborhood and was specifically craving Pad Thai and you couldn’t get it anywhere else, I would say come here and try it, but I’d say skip this place all together if you can.  There are definitely better joints to eat at…unless it’s really late and you couldn’t get sushi and this was the only place left to eat at midnight lol.

~ by thankgoditsfood on February 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
