Kaisen Kaiten: I Love Soft Shell Crab


3855 S. Bristol St.
Santa Ana, CA 92704
(714) 444-2161

After my long wonderful visit in Saratoga to see Julie, I came off the plane super hungry and decided to take my friend, Jimmy, out to eat.  Even though I had my fair share of sushi up in San Jose, I still wasn’t sick of it and Kaisen Kaiten had Soft Shell Crab Hand Rolls as a special on Thursdays for $1.75 (Originally it’s $3.75).

When we first came in, it was pretty empty, but it was already 3:00pm, so no surprise.  When we sat down and began to order, we surprisingly noticed that the menu was actually pretty small…not that big of a selection for hand rolls and cut rolls.  Anyway, we ordered a few cut rolls and the soft shell crab hand roll.

The soft shell crab hand roll was really good.  The soft shell crab was crispy, but not too crunchy to the point that you felt it had no meat in the crab.  It was delectable and very tasty.  The only complaint I might have is that the first hand roll that I got had a lot of the sweet glaze that they usually put on crunch rolls, so it was a little overly sweet.  However, my second hand roll had considerable less glaze, so it was a lot better.

As for the cut rolls, we had the crunch, spider (soft shell crab), avocado, and the Kaisen roll.  I say the Kaisen roll is forgetable because it’s basically a crunch roll, but with the addition of spicy tuna, but I’m not a big fan of spicy tuna anyway, so I didn’t care for it.

The crunch roll was also forgettable as I’ve had better.  The problem with the crunch roll here is that it’s not crunchy enough, not enough panko on the roll itself.

The two rolls that DID stand out, however, are the soft shell crab and the avocado rolls. For starters, the avocado roll is super fresh.  It was very simple with just extra avocado on a california roll, but to be honest, I’m an avocado nut, so this was delectable for me.  If avocado isn’t your thing, you might want to skip this roll, but to me, this roll was just perfect.  The avocado was super fresh and ripe at the perfect moment.  It literally melted in my mouth.

As for the soft shell crab roll, it has the perfect crispy texture with the right amount of glaze to finish the roll off.  It was basically a crunch roll with extra soft shell crab that was deep fried.  Very good and I highly recommend it.

I think I would suggest Kaisen to the locals here in the OC, but I still think this place falls behind Joe’s in terms of the taste and value. It’s a good joint to get sushi, but the fact that Joe’s can replicate and make better rolls at an AYCE price, Joe’s trumps this place out of the water.  However, do come here and try the soft shell crab hand rolls on Thursdays, super cheap and well worth your $1.75.

~ by thankgoditsfood on April 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
