Old Vine Cafe: Making Friends with Strangers at Breakfast

2937 Bristol St
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
(714) 545-1411
www.oldvinecafe.com

So THIS is where all the cool locals go get breakfast. Old Vine Cafe is hidden in The Camp near the anti-mall (The Lab) in Costa Mesa. Vy and I may have stumbled upon this place by chance, but I think we may have hit the jackpot this time.

The place isn’t very big, so we had to wait for a bit. Luckily it wasn’t that bad, there was a hammock to chill in and random photographs outside for one to ponder and contemplate while passing time. Even after we were seated there were things that I was amused by (i.e. the menu on a painted canvas) …okay, I’m just an easily amused person haha.

After checking out the menu, of course Vy orders their bisquits and gravy (which are the best in the OC according to our waiter haha). He also decided to try out their tuna melt panini. I opted for a mixed berry lemonade and the $20 combo with 3 items: caprese salad, porcini mushroom mac and cheese, and the cheesecake.

According to Vy:

Yes, everyone, I’m here to tell you that the biscuits and gravy are the best in the O.C., by far, no competition. The biscuits were so light and fluffy, but at the same time, it had texture and a great buttery taste…and it’s not even over!! The country gravy that tops this bad boy is delicious. It’s not salty like some restaurants might make their country gravy. The gravy is also filled with small bits of sausages and bacon, I mean…need I say more? I can tell by our waiter that he really, truly believes that this restaurant really does serve the best biscuits and gravy. You know what, though? I agree.

So, I guess the waiter was telling the truth after all! After being so impressed with the appetizer, we were definitely excited about the rest of the meal. However, it turns out that not ALL the dishes were on the same par as the bisquits and gravy. The tuna and cheese part of the tuna melt was really good, the bread fell a bit short because it lacked variation in texture. It was pretty much all crisp but no soft, doughy center. At least the portions were big for their paninis.

Other than the bisquits and gravy, the other wow dish was my caprese salad. It was DELISH! The mozzarella was super fresh and it went perfectly with the greens that were crispy from being flash fried. Truly different from your everyday salads. I liked that it was light and savory but not overwhelmed by dressing.

Surprisingly the mac and cheese wasn’t my favorite out of the three items from my combo. While it was good the first few bites, I found the texture slightly watery for my taste and I started to get sick of the dish halfway through. I think that tends to happen with dishes like mac and cheese though. I do believe that Vy can make a better mac n’ cheese with more complex flavors. I had better luck with the dessert following my entree. The berries gave the cheesecake some extra oomph and the crust was rougher than regular cheesecakes, lending a better texture to the dessert.

Surprisingly, Vy and I liked our non-entree dishes more than the actual entree dishes themselves. Next time we will probably try other entree dishes…or just stick to the dishes we liked so much already. I’m personally interested in trying their sweet breakfast dishes. Also, since the guy sitting next to me was writing notes about what he ate (food critic possibly?) and he ordered the same dish twice, I couldn’t resist the temptation to ask what he ordered. We were informed that Old Vine Cafe’s fried green tomatos were also a dish worth getting. Maybe next time we can also give that dish a try…if only I could find it on the menu -_-.  All in all, I think we’ve found ourselves a winner. Definitely come try out this local joint. It’s worth it for their caprese salad and bisquits and gravy :).

~ by thankgoditsfood on June 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
