Kin Sushi: Nice Boat, Not So Nice Sushi

11700 South St.  104
Artesia, CA 90701
(562) 467-0924

Hi, loyal fans! Welcome back to another post of TGIF! I know the updates have been very lackluster lately, but Julie and I are broke lol. We also have a lot of things to take care of as of late as well in terms of our school responsibilities, but trust us, we are trying to keep up with our postings!!

We tried Kin Sushi because it was our friend’s birthday and he wanted sushi. We arrived when they were about to close, but they were nice enough to still serve us.

We ordered a lot of individual rolls even though you can have AYCE here, but since it was late, we decided to give the staff a break and just order all at once. We got rolls such as the Philly Roll, Baked Lobster Roll, Tnt Roll, Superman Burrito, Hawaiian Roll, and the Crunch Roll.

I’m just going to be straightforward and say that Kin Sushi was very average, and I think that’s being generous. When I tried the Superman Burrito, it wasn’t very fresh. I could tell because the tuna that was in the roll tasted old. It was borderline “fishy.” Needless to say, that isn’t very good for a sushi restaurant. The other roll that tasted odd to me was the Hawaiian roll, which was basically crab, avocado, and pineapple. The pineapple mixed in tasted really weird. I think fruit and sushi is not a good combination and should be avoided, unless you like that sort of odd fish and fruit pairing lol. I haven’t really seen a place that has been able to pull that off successfully, so I’m willing to try it again only if you guys chime in and let me know.

The rolls that were somewhat acceptable were the crunch roll, which was your standard affair. The Philly roll was actually pretty well made. They put just the right amount of cream cheese in to compliment the roll without overpowering the taste buds. The Baked Lobster was mediocre. The lobster was flavorless and it just tasted like spicy lobster on top of a California Roll.

I think Kin has potential if they buy fresh fish and stop drenching their rolls in sauce. On two of their rolls, they put way too much dressing on their rolls, which tends to drown out any fish that might be in the roll. My only other complaint about Kin is that the rolls tend to be too big. Sushi should be small, bite sized pieces. The cut rolls here are huge in width and you can easily get full after a roll or two. This can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on who you are, but I prefer them to be much smaller so that I can try more different things. In the end though, I can’t really recommend Kin because I wouldn’t return myself, so I definitely wouldn’t want you to feel the same if you did come and try this place out. There are better sushi places elsewhere to spend your hard earned money.

~ by thankgoditsfood on June 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
