Kyoto Palace: He Likes Me! He Really Likes Me!!

1875 S. Bascom Ave
Suite 2500
Campbell, CA 95008
http://www.kyotopalace.com

Julie’s dad was gracious enough to take us out to dinner that night, and since we had a coupon from restaurant.com for Kyoto Palace, we decided to head here for dinner…AND A SHOW!!

When we arrived, we noticed the inside is packed. It seems to be a hot spot for many of the locals. My first impression was that it was a glorified Benihanas, and it was lol.

Photo Courtesy of Kyotopalace.com

We sat down and ordered our drinks and entrees like any other place. It took awhile for the chef to come, but when he did come, boy was he a delight! His name was Jose, and yes, he is the man that you see in the banner above. Yes, I can tell he is Asian, and yes, that is probably not his real name. However, he was a funny and a fast cook, two good things for a chef at a restaurant such as this. He began cooking and he started flinging food at us, no joke. He wanted to fling eggs at me first, and I accepted gladly hahahaha. I was able to caught the egg he was flinging at my face, only after the third try, the first two tries it landed on my hair and forehead respectively…nice. Julie tried twice, but it got into her hair…YAY! Everyone else at the table didn’t want to try it, so Jose got sad. After that, he looked at me and said, “You’re my favorite!” I remember having tingles in my back, thinking, “he likes me!!!!!” Overly dramatic? No. Understated, definitely.

Moving on, the food was good. I had New York Steak and Chicken with white rice. The steak was very tender and the chicken was juicy as well. My only complaint? The food was way too expensive for what we got. It wasn’t anything special, just grilled steak and chicken. Julie got Scallops, shrimp, and calamari with Fried Rice. The Fried Rice was good, but not complex. It was just salty. Her seafood was the same, just grilled and plain. Yes, we did get some dipping sauces on the side, but again, they aren’t that great to begin with.

Honestly, Kyoto Palace wasn’t bad. It was just plain and very expensive. I think you are paying more for the show than for the food, and I’m sure you would agree if you tried this place also. The food wasn’t memorable, but at least our chef was cool. Go to a mom and pop shop restaurant, save yourself some money, and eat way better food.

~ by thankgoditsfood on July 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
