Naglee Park Garage: Who Knew Garages Could Make Such Good Food?

(courtesy of Yelp!)

505 E San Carlos St
San Jose, CA 95112
(408) 286-1100
http://www.nagleeparkgarage.com

So my friends and I are doing a Yelp! dinner once a week. The deal is: 8 weeks (a week for each person in the group), and a dinner location based on Yelp! chosen by one person a week based on first name order. This week was my turn and also my first appearance at any of these dinners (in case you’re wondering why there aren’t 7 other of these Yelp! dinner reviews). Anyway, so Naglee Park Garage is where I decided we should all go, so let’s get started.

Yes, everyone. This tiny place used to be a garage, and ironically parking is hard to come by. However, the ambiance is super cute and pretty much completely outdoors. Think the family dinner setting in the tv show Parenthood with the lights on strings. Naglee is also not a sit down and order type of place. You order at the counter, they give you a playing card with a number, and then they bring your food out to you when its ready. Word of advice: know what you want to order when you get in line because the line can get backed up without notice sometimes. Even though the wait could get long, luckily the staff is very friendly and they try their best to make your meal a good experience. I’m also thinking they probably also love Yelpers, since they kept encouraging us to review when they saw me taking pictures.

My friends and I ordered sweet potato fries and burgers. The sweet potato fries were not the typical orange fries you get at other places. For one, they were definitely more oily than your typical sweet potato fries and the seasoning was also different. They actually reminded me more of potato skins, but they were still really good. If you like burgers, then you’ would probably like the burgers here. Naglee’s burgers are fat and juicy, with yummy (also big) fries on the side. Avocado (and I think cheese) can be added extra. For $10.50 a burger, I say split it so you can save room to try their other food as well.

Finishing off our lovely dinner, my friends and I decided to order Naglee’s signature bread pudding dessert, which comes in either vanilla or chocolate. Surprisingly, when we went to order, they said it was on the house. Soon after, they brought out one of each flavor. I must say, I love bread pudding and Naglee makes a really delicious bread pudding that is very moist. The walnuts on top added an extra crunch that complemented the dessert well. Since I was lucky enough to try both, I’d say chocolate for those who like it sweeter and vanilla for those who just want the regular bread pudding.

I give this place a thumbs up. Naturally, I’m a sucker for cute atmosphere and this place doesn’t fall short in that category. I also want to give a shout out to those working at Naglee for being so nice! Come here for a date or with friends, either way you’ll come out happy :).

~ by thankgoditsfood on August 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
