Amsterdam Falafel & Kabob: A Wonderful Surprise

620 North 50th St.
Omaha, NE 68132
(402) 504-3223
www.eatafk.com

Hi, TGIF fans! Just wanted to let everyone know right off the bat that you most likely are not going to get a chance to eat here unless you somehow find yourself in Omaha, NE, if you ARE from Omaha, GET HERE NOW!!!! I actually went to Omaha for a medical school interview this past weekend at Creighton University and I have to admit, I was blown away by the hospitality and environment of the school. I am happy to report that I would gladly accept an offer from Creighton if I am lucky enough to be accepted!

Anyway, I decided to venture around the city and find some good food to eat and landed randomly at this spot. It was definitely a mom & pop shop kind of place, but it was still very nice. My sister and I both ordered the Falafel sandwich with curry fries. I got the garlic herb sauce, while my sister got the spicy sauce.

The pita bread that this place uses is very dense and doughy, but in a good way. The outside is crispy and the center is soft and chewy, just the way I like it. Very different from the traditional pita breads that are used out here in California. The fried falafel were amazing! Crispy and well marianted. The cucumber, couscous, tomato mixture was fresh and light. The garlic herb sauce finished the entire sandwich off and blended all the flavors together very well.

The curry fries, on the other hand, I did not like! I think it would taste a lot better if they finish it off with some lime or some other spices, but just putting straight curry powder over the fries didn’t really work in my opinion. The reason why I say that is because if you happen to take a bite of a french fry that was too heavy on the curry powder, it can get really bitter…so, I think if they finish off the fries with some lime it would probably taste pretty good.

I have to admit that I fell in love with this place. I’m not sure if I will ever get the chance to eat here again, nor will Julie ever get the chance to try it either, but hey, if I attend Creighton University School of Medicine next fall, I will get plenty of opportunities!

~ by thankgoditsfood on August 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
