Ajisen Ramen: MEAT EXPLOSION!!!!

2700 Alton Parkway
Suite 145
Irvine, CA 92606
(949) 833-3288

I have been to Ajisen a few times before this review and I have to honestly admit that the place has one big thing going for it, and it’s the meat. Specifically, the tender pork rib ramen.

If you are a meat lover and ever find yourself complaining about a ramen house not giving you enough meat, I think Ajisen might be the ramen house for you. For starters, the noodles here are nothing special. Typical egg noodles that are used at most ramen houses. I always see them taking noodles out of a box, so I’m sure these are pre-made and they only boil them to order.

The broth at Ajisen I feel is good enough. I still think it can be more flavorful compared to Shinsengumi, but it’ll suffice if you just want a regular bowl of ramen. I must admit that it IS a little on the salty side though, so don’t pour anymore soy sauce into your broth, trust me lol.

For all of it’s shortcomings though, I feel that Ajisen makes up for it ten-fold in terms of their meat department. Definitely get the tender pork rib ramen bowl if you are here, it is the #1 option on their menu. The meat is very, very, very tender. We’re talking about the tendons of the meat falling apart in your mouth with little to no effort. On top of this, they give you  A LOT. We’re not talking a measly few pieces like other ramen houses. Ajisen does not cheap out on their pork tendons. I literally had half a bowl of noodles, and half a bowl of meat. It was basically a 1:1 ratio of meat to noodles, which is a rarity at any ramen shop due to cost. At $9.25, it is a little on the expensive side, but for what they give, I definitely didn’t complain.

Although Ajisen is really nothing special in terms of their broth and noodles, their meat is fantastic and I think warrants at least a visit from the casual diner. My sister got the cha siu ramen and we also ordered a small side of a crunch roll since we were just craving sushi lol. It was decent, but I wouldn’t order it again for the simple fact that it was $6 for nothing really special. Anyway, if you are near an Ajisen and craving ramen, give this place a try and see what you think!

~ by thankgoditsfood on September 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
