No Frill Bar and Grill: Heavy Hitter


806 Spotswood Ave.
Norfolk, VA 23517
(757) 627-4262
www.nofrillgrill.com

Hey everyone, I’m in Norfolk, VA! I was super hungry, so my sister and I decided to randomly try this restaurant out since it had a decent amount of reviews on yelp. It’s nestled quietly in a neighborhood outside from the public streets. You would definitely miss this place if you weren’t actually looking for it.

When we got in, we sat down, and took a look at the menu. The menu is pretty classic American. You got burgers, mac n’ cheese, shakes, etc. However, I noticed a few other items on the menu that definitely stuck out. The one dish that stuck out to me the most were the pierogies. Now, I know what you are thinking. Why order Polish food at an American diner? Good question, I don’t know. I just wanted to try it, lol. Based on the description, it seemed pretty good! I ordered the appetizer size as I was too broke to afford the entrée size, lol. My sister ended up getting the Chicken Gyro and we both also split an order of the onion rings.

The pierogies here are RICH. SUPER HEAVY and RICH. The inside filling of the pierogies is just mased up potatoes, which is pretty true to how the Polish would make this dish. However, the outside was just drowned in cheese, bacon, and sour cream. Definitely not what the Polish would do lol. It was a heart attack on a dish, but you know what, I was hungry and wasn’t about to waste my $8, so I ate it anyway. I ate three of the pierogies and basically gave up. It was just way too rich and heavy. You get sick of the cheese taste and the sour cream is just a very bad addition. A classic Polish dish that went in the wrong direction -_-. The potatoes inside the piergoes were well seasoned and the dumpings were well made, but other than that, I can’t really find anything else I like about the dish. Now only if they put less cheese and omit the sour cream, the dish would be a winner. Maybe finish it off with Olive oil instead of butter?

The chicken gyro my sister had tasted more like a gordita at taco bell than a traditional gyro. The chicken was a little on the overcooked side as the breast meat was a little dry. I think the addition of ranch to what is suppose to be greek cuisine was a little odd. Definitely not something expected, but at least it didn’t taste bad. I was expecting to taste Greek, but ended up tasting Mexican lol. For what it’s worth, it wasn’t bad and I would order it again if I was there, but definitely not a Gyro if that’s what you are looking for.

The Beer Battered Onion rings here though are wonderful! Perfectly cooked, light, and crispy. The dip that they provided was also very creamy and delicious. It seemed like a mix between ranch and thousand lsland dressing, which was probably what it was, but it definitely complimented the onion rings perfectly.

My lesson is to never order ethnic food again at an American restaurant lol. Something at the moment made me decide to just order the Pierogies, but I guess that’s one mistake I won’t make again. The place seems to serve very decent and fairly priced food. I think if I was ever in Norfolk again, I’d definitely give them another try and I’d make sure to try their classic American food and see how they fair in that department, which I’m sure is a lot better. Don’t let this review sway you away from this restaurant because they definitely seem like they have a lot of other dishes that could potentially be, “out of the ball park” winners, so make sure to stop by.

~ by thankgoditsfood on October 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
