De Simone Bakery & Delicatessen: Tasting My 3rd and 4th Options

6850 Edinger Ave
Huntington Beach, CA 92648
(714) 847-0922
www.desimonedeli.com/

I was working at the office one day and I was really craving a tuna salad sandwich. I looked up a sandwich shop that was close to the Doctor’s office that I was working at and decided to drop by after work. When I came into the shop, it was completley empty, however, I didn’t take it as a bad sign as this place had over 300 reviews on yelp.

When I told them I wanted a tuna salad sandwich, they said they were out. When I told them I wanted a chicken salad sandwich, they said they were out also -_-. Then I gave up and just asked what materials they had left and for what sandwich lol. They recommended me the Cuban sandwich and the Pastrami sandwich. I decided to get both as my mom had not eaten yet and I wanted to try both. While I was waiting, I was a little disappointed to see that this place doesn’t cure any of their own meats. The pastrami, the cold cuts, etc. They are all bought from a curing house and stored in their cold case at the front. I would be lying if I said I didn’t hesitate to cancel my order, however, I was hungry and I always like to give places a chance to show me what they can do.

When my sandwiches came out, they were definitely on the heavy side, so that’s always a good sign. When I brought the sandwiches home, they were still warm and ready to eat, so my mom and I dug in. I tried the Cuban sandwich first, which had 3 different types of ham, pickles, and cheese. My first impression was that this sandwich was very well balanced. It wasn’t overly salty, and you can really taste the meat and pickles. However, it needs some type of sauce in it. It’s a little on the dry side. Either add mayo, guac, or something. As is, I think it’s a little plain and one dimensional, but not bad nonetheless.

The pastrami sandwich easily stood out between the two. Even though I knew the pastrami was bought from a curing house, they did put the pastrami on the grill to give it a crispy texture and it tasted amazing. The pastrami was definitely very good. The curing house that they bought the pastrami from knows what they are doing. The pastrami sandwich had a little bit of mustard on it, but nothing I could discern to be honest. Still very good though. My other complaint about both sandwiches would have to be the bread. The bread was dry and was not hearty at all. However, I think I just got a loaf that was hanging around for too long because it was suppose to be a French baqueette, which fresh, should taste amazing!

Anyway, I think I would come back and try their other sandwiches before I really decide if I want to make this place a regular. I would recommend that you give this place a try as it does seem to have  a loyal customer base, which means they are doing something right. I would recommend the pastrami to the meat eaters because they are very generous with their portions on that front. I’ll be back soon to try their other stuff. I’m particularly excited to try their chicken and tuna salad sandwiches. Let’s just hope they have some next time I come in -_-.

6850 Edinger Ave
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

(714) 847-0922

~ by thankgoditsfood on November 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “De Simone Bakery & Delicatessen: Tasting My 3rd and 4th Options”

  1. Just wanted to leave a comment to say how much I love your blog! Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
