Domo Sushi: A Little of CA in VA

273 Granby St.
Norfolk, VA 23510
(757) 628-8282

Hey, TGIF fans! This blog entry was from a restaurant that my sister and I ate at during our second night in Virginia for when I was interviewing for medical school. This restaurant was the only one that was opened late and near our hotel, so we decided to give it a try as the place seemed pretty busy, which is always a good sign.

We went in without having too high of an expectation because we do realize Southern CA is known as Sushi capitol in the U.S. However, as we saw the menu, we realized that the rolls here in Norfolk are just as creative and adventurous as the rolls served back in CA. The first roll that caught my eye was the Oceanside roll, which was cooked Red snapper on top and spicy tuna on the inside. It’s finished off with a light sweet glaze. The next roll that caught our eye was a mango roll. I can’t quite remember the name of it, but it had a slice of mango on the outside with tuna, avocado and shrimp tempura on the inside. We also ordered two more basic rolls, which were the Philadelphia roll, shrimp tempura roll, and an appetizer sized order of soy marinated chicken.

Out of all the rolls that we ordered, the best one was the Oceanside roll. The fish was fresh, the rice had the perfect texture, and the spicy tuna inside offered a good bit amount of spice, but without overpowering the pallet. The sweet glaze also perfectly complimented the roll. The Mango Roll was very similar in taste, however, my only complaint about the roll was that the mango slices were way too firm. The mango rolls I’ve had in CA were very tender and almost fish like in terms of texture. I think that’s the best route to go. I think if the mangos were a little more ripe, the roll would have had the perfect texture. The crunch from the shrimp tempura was a nice touch as well. The Philadelphia and shrimp tempura rolls were all standard and pretty much tasted like what you would have expected.

The disappointment of the night would have to be the soy marinated chicken. The big problem here is that they basically put the chicken in soy sauce, and then just threw the chicken in the deep fryer without coating it in anything. The problem with just putting chicken directly into hot oil without battering  it with some sort of flour is that it can get really dry. My sister and I felt like we were chewing on rubber. This is probably more attributed to them overcooking the meat than just throwing it in the deep fryer. I’ve had dark meat chicken directly fried without any coating before and it tasted fine. This, however, was far from good. Easily the worst chicken dish I have had in my life. I think if they had used dark meat it would have been a little more tolerable, but the fact that they used chicken breast, it tasted like hard rubber.

Overall though, I was pleasantly surprised that Domo Sushi was actually a pretty decent place to grab sushi. Granted I wasn’t expecting “Sushi Asahi” quality sushi, but given the area and the random craving for sushi, it wasn’t too bad at all. The Oceanside Roll was definitely a good surprise and the roll that I would order again if I found myself at Domo Sushi. If you are ever in Norfolk and want some creative rolls, I think this place is worth a try. However, I’ll let you know ahead of time that the rolls here are easily more expensive on average than the rolls back in CA. The rolls average about $11-$15, so a little on the pricey side. The basic rolls, however, such as the CA roll or the Philadelphia roll are only $4-$5, so cheaper than you would normally expect. Order their signature rolls and stay away from everything else, lol.

~ by thankgoditsfood on November 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
