Oreo Tuffles: No Bake, Piece of Cake!

Today was one of my roommate’s birthday’s and I decided to make Oreo Truffles, since her favorite cookies were Oreos! I realized even though I haven’t been eating out at as many new places as I used to, I can still share my cooking experiences…so here goes! I’ve been cooking a lot more because 1) to save money and 2) having a gas stove just makes cooking so much more fun :D. It’ll be hard when I have to go back to a electric stove back home.

Anyways, this recipe is another super easy one, which seems to be a trend with my cooking/baking ;). Only 3 ingredients are required and there is no baking involved.

Ingredients

1 package Double Stuf Oreos (you can use other flavors too)
4-8 ounces cream cheese
Dipping chocolate (Chocolate chips will work)

Wax/parchment paper

Directions

In a food processor, blend the Oreos until they are crumbs. (I used my Magic Bullet so it took a bit longer since I could only crush a limited amount of Oreos at a time).

Mix in cream cheese with the Oreo crumbs in a bowl until you get a moist “dough”. I say 4-8 oz because certain recipes call for 4oz, others ask for 8oz. I had only used 2/3 of the Oreo package and used about 2/3 of an 8oz pack of cream cheese.

Once you have the moist “dough” consistency, roll into balls, arrange on wax/parchment paper, and put in the freezer for 10 minutes.

While you’re waiting, melt the dipping chocolate (best if you use a double broiler).

Take out the balls and dip them in the chocolate and place on parchment paper. If desire, you can sprinkle some Oreo crumbs (as I did) while the chocolate is still wet. I have also seen others drizzle white chocolate over it. A trick I found for making chocolate covered balls was breaking off the two middle prongs of a plastic fork and using that to “scoop” and shake off the excess melted chocolate. Even though my Oreo balls weren’t perfect circles, the fork eliminated the problem of a messy chocolate covered ball rolling around.

Lastly, you can put the tray of Oreo truffles in the fridge (or freezer if you need the chocolate to harden faster) and you’re good to go!

~ by thankgoditsfood on December 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
